A Nissan Sentra Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to using forums so here it goes.

I drive a 2005 Spec V. When my misfire began I had 4-2-1 OBX Headers, using the anti-fouler trick on the second sensor, catless with a resonator and Nismo muffler. I already took care of the butterfly screws two years ago when I purchased the vehicle. I thought my head gasket was going because I smelled coolant, and before this became a full misfire it was an occasional sputter. I brought it down to a small shop to have my compression tested and had them check for vacuum leaks as well. The reports said that my compression was fine and no vacuum leaks were found, the mechanic also claimed that the "cause" of my misfire was due to the first 02 sensor only reading bank 1 due to it's position on the headers. Long story short, I took the headers off (had to pass emissions anyways), replaced the 02 sensors, and the misfire continued to occur and has been happening more frequently over time.

The car now has 3 levels of misfire:
1. Gradual Misfire that starts as a sputter and grows into a slight misfire, which turns my CEL on.
2. Light Misfire that usually goes away after shifting and stopping a few times, when it persists long enough causes my CEL to flash.
3. Rough Misfire that causes my entire car to stutter and shake, sounds like a choppy lawnmower and causes my CEL to flash.

The codes never stay for long but it's always a p0300.

The problem occurs on multiple occasions:
1. Upon start up, will idle around 1100-1200 rpms and have an audible light misfire, when I begin to drive (within a mile or so) it goes
away or turns into the rough misfire.
2. Upon take off (1st gear) it will sputter and turn into a light misfire (more likely to continue to misfire and turn into rough misfire)
3. Randomly while I'm driving, mostly in between shifting (2nd to 3rd & 3rd to 4th especially)
4. Randomly while driving between 2-3k rpms.