A Nissan Sentra Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Nissan Sentra
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. Having some issues with my 1.8. Ive tried searching with no success.

Car: 03 1.8 / 5spd GXE 129K, car is in really nice shape

Back story: I bought the car with a blown head gasket to make a nice little daily out of, So I have no prior knowledge of the car.

I did a head gasket, and and had the head redone/checked for leaks while apart. Pulled codes and had a crank shaft position sensor and P0303. Checked the coil, it was bad so i replaced all 4 coils and the crank position sensor.

Car starts and runs great while cold. Drives with no issues, plenty of power all day long. Problem is once it is warmed up it will not sit and idle. Just dies, have to give it just a little gas to keep it running. No codes, so far I have put 200 miles on it and still no codes. I pulled the injectors/rail and primed them to see if they were leaking and they are not. Cleaned up and put in with new seals, no change.

Car has new coils, crank position sensor, plugs (NGK), temp sensor, and knock sensor (previous owner did the knock sensor). It gives me no codes what so ever. Where do I start to diagnose this issue, any tips?

Also note that if I turn the ac on the car will idle better, but from higher rpm to dead stop will still sometimes die.

Thanks for any help

Joe H.
2003 Sentra GXE 1.8 /5spd

·
Registered
503 Posts
Have you done an idle relearn once up to temp with aircon and lights off ?
When cold the idle speed will be higher, as it will with the aircon on, so it seems your warm idle speed is too low.

·
Registered
2003 Nissan Sentra
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have done the idle relearn twice now. Both after about 20/30 minutes of warm up. Both appeared to take. Still no change.