A Nissan Sentra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, thanks for taking the time to read this. I currently own two sentras. a 98 and 97. I want a spec-v pretty bad but I don't have the money to get a nice running one. So I figured with alot of work I might be able to get one that needs a motor and save big. I am not new to replacing motors but I am new to the 2.5L motor. So here's my question...

I was thinking about buying a 2003 spec-v with a bad 2.5 motor. The earlier 2.5 motors that are an exact replacement used engines are quite high 1500 or so. If I buy a newer Altima 2.5 motor like a 2007 or later the price drops to somewhere around 600-700 for a nice low mileage motor. My questions are this. Are the motors the same as far as bolt up etc? If so will I have to change stuff around to get this to work? Or won’t it work at all? What I am afraid of is buying a later motor and having things totally different like harnesses and computers, sensors in the wrong spot, etc…
As an example I bought a 1997 Sentra that needed a motor. I got another 1.6l engine that bolted up fine but I had to change a few things around. It wasn’t a big deal at all and in no time I had it running good.

Also are the later motors still having problems with the butterfly valve screws falling into the cylinders? What about the later pre cats? Are they still coming apart and destroying the motor?

Has anyone done this swap?

thanks

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
im in to know the answer to this too when my qr gets up thur....... i no it will take some fab work chances are peopl go with the 3.5swap it seems to b more worth it than putting another 2.5 in

·
Registered
190 Posts