A Nissan Sentra Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so iam total new to this site total new to modifying my vehicle but i have a few noob questions and was hoping you guys could help me. I just recently bought a 2004 spec v sentra and i now notice that it is burning a decent amount of oil. I was wondering what the option for remedying this problem are. From what i have read on the other posts on the site it seems i need to get a aftermarket head and get rid of the pre-cat. Iam assuming some damage has been done to the cylinder walls but iam not sure. Maybe Tuesday when i am off i will follow one of the walk throughts and check the butterfly screws. What does a rebuild consist of? About how much would it cost for this motor. Should i just bore it out and getting a little more displacement while iam at it. I suppose what would be the cheapest option that would leave room for more hp gains in the future. I am a cook and this time of year is real shitty on the pay check. Thanks for any help you can send my way

·
Registered
1,711 Posts
I don't own a Spec but I know that for the precat problem you can gut it. There should be a guide on here that get into the details. Another option is to go for an aftermarket header, but I'd install resonators to quiet it down a lil. As for the butterfly screws, you can use red Loctite, you won't have to worry about them for a while. First things first, I'd look for damage to the motor before I look anywhere else. My 2 cents. Good luck with the car

·
39,082 Posts
Do a compression check. IF you get 160, you should be ok.
If not, then a rebuild or reman engine is in order.

Treadstone sells a rebuild kit so check them out.

Loctite your butterfly screws and get rid of the pre-cat asap. If you don't have money for an ebay header, gut the stock one.

·
Registered
458 Posts