Setting up your SAFC2
B15U.com - A Nissan Sentra Forum
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 42
  1. #1
    Senior Member Jamil
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Staten Island NY
    Posts
    7,399
    Drives
    qr25det
    Likes Received
    139

    Default Setting up your SAFC2

    Written By: Silverspec, chris and shane

    Step 1.
    After installing your SAFC II properly, put the car's ignition into the "ON" position. DO NOT TURN ON THE ENGINE!! Running with another cars tune, or settings may damage your car. You have been warned.

    Step 2.
    First you will need to initialize the unit. This is basically clearing out any old settings or tune, so you start with a clean slate.
    At the main menu, go down and click on the "Etc." sub menu.




    Next scroll down to the "Initialize" option and click it.




    When the AFC asks if you want to "Init. All?" hit yes.




    Step 3.
    Now, back at the main menu go into the "Etc." sub menu to set up the car.




    The first setting is sensor type. This is the MAF type and signal info.




    Our cars have a Hot Wire type MAF, select "Hot Wire".




    Now, this has been in debate on the Sensor Numbers. Both 18 in 18 out and 24 in 24 out have worked. I used 18/18 on my car, and that is what we did with Shane's.




    Next is the sensor calibration. This is 1 in 1 out.




    Step 4.
    Next setting is the Car Type. Back into the "Etc." Sub Menu select the "Car Type" option.




    Our cars are 4cyl and the throttle signal is the arrow going up.




    Step 5.
    Back into the "Etc." sub menu select sensor check.




    This displays some of the signals.




    What you will need to do in the sensor check screen is put the car in 1st gear, then hold the throttle closed (foot all the off the pedal) for 10 seconds and then fully open (foot to the floor) for 10 seconds. You should see the volts go up. Like this.

    Fully closed:




    Fully Open:




    Step 6.
    Now you will need to calibrate your knock sensor.
    So what you do is turn the ignition COMPLETELY off for 10 seconds. And now proceed to turn your car on (it's okay now).

    Drive it around a bit, make sure the throttle is fine and your MAF isn't putting your car in limp mode. It's not right? Good. Check the RPMs are accurate at different RPMs as well.

    After the car is warmed
    Now you need to calibrate the knock sensor. Find a place where you can make some noise, cause you're going to revving the engine.

    With the car still on, go into the "Settings" sub menu




    And select the "Knk Set" Option.




    Now, what you need to do is rev the car up to the two RPMs. Lower one first and higher second. Take as much time as you need. It's tough keeping the RPMs at a single point. When you are STEADY at the right RPM, hit the button, that will set the knock at that RPM.




    Repeat for the next RPM.

    And there you go!! Your car is all set up!!
    Last edited by ash; 01-10-2011 at 10:53 AM.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    B15U.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Jamil
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Staten Island NY
    Posts
    7,399
    Drives
    qr25det
    Likes Received
    139

    Default

    Now once you have your SAFC II set up you want to view all the nice pretty data right?

    Well there are multiple ways of displaying this data. And here they are.

    At the main menu go into the "Monitor" sub menu.




    Select how many channels you want to view (I keep it at 4)




    Next is selecting WHICH channels you want to see.
    I watch RPM, Knock (Knk), Throttle and Correction.




    The first view is just the Numerical values of everything.




    If you hit the next button, you will see it's now a graph.




    The 3rd view is only two gauges, so that's what you're stuck at.




    and the last view is a pretty way of showing all 4 values at once. Most people like this one.

    Last edited by ash; 06-16-2011 at 02:22 PM.

  4. #3
    Member Ashwin
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    11,669
    Rides
    2
    Drives
    '03 QR25DE-T
    Likes Received
    647

    Default

    freaking great post dude..1st link in 2nd post is bad

  5. Remove Advertisements
    B15U.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Senior Member Jamil
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Staten Island NY
    Posts
    7,399
    Drives
    qr25det
    Likes Received
    139

    Default

    good eye. Fixed.

  7. #5
    Senior Member MIKE
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    STATEN ISLAND
    Posts
    2,172
    Rides
    1
    Drives
    02 maxima
    Likes Received
    17

    Default

    ima bump a ld thread...im stuck at setting the knock sensor...

  8. #6
    Senior Member Doug E. Fresh
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    M'boro TN
    Posts
    2,337
    Rides
    1
    Drives
    03 Spec V
    Likes Received
    101

    Default

    I have my in out at 3-3, it should be 18-18? I think i had it at 18-18 and it was not running very good, if I recall it would not even idle.

  9. #7
    BDSF Karl
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    11,451
    Rides
    2
    Drives
    Audi B8 S4, FF Turbo SpecV
    Likes Received
    1950

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 02 VQ35 6SPD..MAXIMA View Post
    ima bump a ld thread...im stuck at setting the knock sensor...
    Rev to the two values it shows (1500, 3500) then when you match the rpm shown, hit the the little button to the right to set it. Make sure the car is warm when you do this.
    "Do you want to go fast or do you want to suck?" - Mike K.

  10. #8
    Senior Member MIKE
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    STATEN ISLAND
    Posts
    2,172
    Rides
    1
    Drives
    02 maxima
    Likes Received
    17

    Default

    ^^ i did that a still wont set...ill rev it to 1300 as it says and then a number next to it lik 67 wil be their...and nowat idle the knock shows 1 or 2 which it shuldnt cuz i have it relocated
    02 6speed fully bolted maxima SOlD

    08 6SPEED BMW E90 M3 - NEW BABY

  11. #9
    BDSF Karl
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    11,451
    Rides
    2
    Drives
    Audi B8 S4, FF Turbo SpecV
    Likes Received
    1950

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeyMikee View Post
    ^^ i did that a still wont set...ill rev it to 1300 as it says and then a number next to it lik 67 wil be their...and nowat idle the knock shows 1 or 2 which it shuldnt cuz i have it relocated
    If it shows 1 or 2 (or anything besides 0x) it has been set. I'm not sure exactly what numbers constitute actual knock (I've seen anywhere from 20-30 before) and the numbers will actually vary depending on the conditions you set knock in. I've found that setting the knock values on a very hot day after the motor has been on for a while will keep the readings lower (ie. less sensitive).
    "Do you want to go fast or do you want to suck?" - Mike K.

  12. #10
    Senior Member MIKE
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    STATEN ISLAND
    Posts
    2,172
    Rides
    1
    Drives
    02 maxima
    Likes Received
    17

    Default

    ^^ i was driving today and it was going up to lik 20....shuldnt it be zero all times cuz i have it relocated? it was reading zero b4 i messd with it
    02 6speed fully bolted maxima SOlD

    08 6SPEED BMW E90 M3 - NEW BABY

  13. #11
    Apprentice
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    682
    Rides
    1
    Likes Received
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MisterNuts View Post
    If it shows 1 or 2 (or anything besides 0x) it has been set. I'm not sure exactly what numbers constitute actual knock (I've seen anywhere from 20-30 before) and the numbers will actually vary depending on the conditions you set knock in. I've found that setting the knock values on a very hot day after the motor has been on for a while will keep the readings lower (ie. less sensitive).
    I can only speak to the 04-06 which doesn't need a knock sensor relocation.

    Anything under 100 is cool. Often times you can see 50+ at idle on a really hot summer day. At WOT there should be enough fuel to keep the knock very low. I was getting 30 knock max on the SAFC2 at 6-7psi. It was 0 at WOT though.

  14. #12
    Senior Member MIKE
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    STATEN ISLAND
    Posts
    2,172
    Rides
    1
    Drives
    02 maxima
    Likes Received
    17

    Default

    ^^ will it affect anything? say if my knock goes to 60 does the afc alter anything on the ecu? or its just "reading" the knock...cuz ima about to clear everything and start all over and not even set the kock warning..
    02 6speed fully bolted maxima SOlD

    08 6SPEED BMW E90 M3 - NEW BABY

  15. #13
    BDSF Karl
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    11,451
    Rides
    2
    Drives
    Audi B8 S4, FF Turbo SpecV
    Likes Received
    1950

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeyMikee View Post
    ^^ will it affect anything? say if my knock goes to 60 does the afc alter anything on the ecu? or its just "reading" the knock...cuz ima about to clear everything and start all over and not even set the kock warning..
    It is just monitoring knock, the SAFC doesn't change anything no matter how high the knock values are.
    "Do you want to go fast or do you want to suck?" - Mike K.

  16. #14
    Senior Member MIKE
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    STATEN ISLAND
    Posts
    2,172
    Rides
    1
    Drives
    02 maxima
    Likes Received
    17

    Default

    ^^ okay good then i got nuthing to worry about lol...still dont understand how it still shows knock when its relocated lol
    02 6speed fully bolted maxima SOlD

    08 6SPEED BMW E90 M3 - NEW BABY

  17. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    129
    Rides
    5
    Drives
    07 Kawasaki ZZR600
    Likes Received
    1

    Default

    I have a question...I installed me SAFC II with these instructions.

    Now, say I get a Neo...would the harnesses be the same? Or is the Neo harness different?

    In other words, can I just leave the main harness connected at the ECU and just swap out the SAFC for the Neo?


    93 Nissan Pathfinder - Daily/parts hauler
    07 Kawasaki ZZR600 - The attention getter, aka..the Money Shot. LOL
    80 Mazda RX-7 - future track slut

    An on-ramp is a terrible thing to waste....

  18. #16
    BDSF Karl
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    11,451
    Rides
    2
    Drives
    Audi B8 S4, FF Turbo SpecV
    Likes Received
    1950

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by InNeedOfBoost View Post
    I have a question...I installed me SAFC II with these instructions.

    Now, say I get a Neo...would the harnesses be the same? Or is the Neo harness different?

    In other words, can I just leave the main harness connected at the ECU and just swap out the SAFC for the Neo?
    Seeing as how some of the wiring is different between the Neo and the SAFCII, I would assume not.

    Replacing an SAFCII with a Neo is a waste of money IMO.
    "Do you want to go fast or do you want to suck?" - Mike K.

  19. #17
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    129
    Rides
    5
    Drives
    07 Kawasaki ZZR600
    Likes Received
    1

    Default

    Not if the Neo was FREE! LOL

    Yea, a good friend of mine got it for his car, then decided to get a tuned ECU for his SR 240. Now he is leaving to go to Germany for the next 3 years so he didn't feel like the hassle of trying to sell it. I inherited it!


    93 Nissan Pathfinder - Daily/parts hauler
    07 Kawasaki ZZR600 - The attention getter, aka..the Money Shot. LOL
    80 Mazda RX-7 - future track slut

    An on-ramp is a terrible thing to waste....

  20. #18
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    140
    Rides
    2
    Likes Received
    6

    Default

    thanks to me, chris and shane for making this how to.

  21. #19
    Apprentice Jim
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    708
    Drives
    2002 boosted, High Rev SpecV
    Likes Received
    7

    Default

    What should the hi and low throttle setting be?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Corn Drinking, High Revving, Turbo charged '02 SpecV.
    12.4 ET - Stock Motor and still hunting for 11's.

  22. #20
    BDSF Karl
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    11,451
    Rides
    2
    Drives
    Audi B8 S4, FF Turbo SpecV
    Likes Received
    1950

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xxchuncexx View Post
    What should the hi and low throttle setting be?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Depends on your afr's at partial throttle. Have you done any datalogging?
    "Do you want to go fast or do you want to suck?" - Mike K.

 

 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. GI/WTT: safc2 for a neo
    By Splash45 in forum Parts for Sale
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-13-2009, 12:54 PM
  2. Low and High Throttle % on SAFC2
    By SupraFast in forum Tuning & Engine Management
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-05-2008, 08:14 PM
  3. FS: Black SAFC2 w/ stand
    By Splash45 in forum Parts for Sale
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-08-2008, 12:04 PM
  4. Display Scale on the SAFC2?
    By Splash45 in forum Tuning & Engine Management
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-23-2008, 03:06 PM
  5. Would anyone like to buy an safc2
    By thespec3 in forum Parts for Sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-20-2007, 01:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •