A Nissan Sentra Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I drive an '02 Sentra SE-R, 134k miles, 5spd, QR25DE. The car was my mother's at ~60k miles, and I drove it occasionally til 120k. Then I got the car, and have been driving it since 120k. I am an aggressive driver...very aggressive. This car has not thrown a single code since it was purchased at the dealership, and has not sputtered or choked one bit since purchased. With all that being said;

I changed my oil a couple of weeks ago, and the other day when I checked the oil it was bone dry. The system was sealed, so I was very confused as to where 4qts of oil went. Today, I went down to Wal Mart, car running fine like always, except my CEL had been on for a week or two (error codes 0031 and 0132). On my way back, I stopped at a stoplight on a 4lane road (rt 1 in Westerly, RI). When it turned green, I decided to race to fourth gear. Out of nowhere, lights flashed in my rearview. Cop pulled me over, told me I gagged him with black smoke, it was pouring out my exhaust. I told him I would drive to a mechanic, and I did. Upon leaving, I put it under a load, and noticed white (oil) smoke coming out.

So, now I know where all that oil went - I burned it. Driving to the mechanics, I pondered why and how I could have burned so much oil so quickly. After all, the car was running smooth!! We got to the mechanics, and wouldn't you know, JUST as I pulled up, my car started puttering, bogging, running very shitty. Had the mechanic look it over, he told me it was an internal problem with cylinder 2/3 (the passenger-side inside cylinder). He told me it was serious -- something like a piston, piston ring, hole in the cyl wall, or valve problem. Compression test showed 20lbs of compression in that cylinder. I started it up, it was boggy, and drove to McDonalds.