A Nissan Sentra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
9,641 Posts
I will say, this is my first time trying this. I'm book smart, but when I turn a wrench everything goes wrong for me.
That being said, I didn't run into any serious issues, although this did take me 2 hours (anyone can finish this in an hour or less though). Couldn't find my ratchet set, and when I did, they all fell out of the case. Lol.

What you'll need:
-New pads (usually comes with brake grease)
-Anti seize would be good
-Ratchet with 17mm socket
-Caliper Piston tool (rented from autozone for free, with $63 deposit, you get it back).
-Wheel stoppers (2x4's work)
-Jack, jack stands
-Something with about equal height of the rear axle beam when jacked up (to hold calipers up

1: park in gear, do NOT put on the e-brake

2: put a couple planks of wood (or wheel stoppers of any kind) in front and behind the front tires just in case.

3: Loosen rear wheel lugs

4: Jack up the car, put jack stands

5: remove rear wheels

6: get 17mm socket and remove the 2 bolts holding the caliper

7: once removed, put the caliper on an object to avoid from having them hang, possibly causing potential damage to the brake lines.

-Note, sometimes pulling the caliper off the rotor is kinda tough. You can use a hammer if shimming it from the top to bottom doesn't break it free. Do not hit in places that are weak or than can potentially break, and don't smash it, just give it a few good whacks.

8: remove old pads from the caliper, and remove shims behind old brake pads (if you get hawk pads, you wont need to reuse them).

9: grease the backs of the pads with the grease included to reduce possibly noise in the future. I used a piece of cardboard from the caliper box to spread it. Directions say not to touch it.