A Nissan Sentra Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, this is my first post on this forum, ever through i have been lunking for the past 6 months.
But this time I need your help.

For the past 2 months or so, my car has been burning at least 1 pint of 5w30 per 500 km. So yesterday I did a compression test, I got these results 125-120-120-118.
I'd like to know what I should try to find what is the problem.

My car knowledge is really limited so use simple terms if you can.
Sorry if there is any english mistakes, I mainly speak french.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Is there any other clue that i need a new engine? Because my neighbour did the compression test so im not 100% sure its accurate

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I'll take a look after work, ty
If that can help, there is no blue smoke that come out of the exhaust and the spark plug were clean

·
Registered
666 Posts
meh what oil are you running now? because when it hit -25 my car started to burn way more oil then normal and now that its back around 0 its not too bad again. but your compression is really bad which is telling me you probably have the stock exhaust manifold on it exploded and pieces of it scored you cylinder walls.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
My engine was changed by nissan and the previous owner changed the header and loctite the butterfly screw

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Im running 5w30 and my car burn more oil when its cold too, when its -10 celcius it start to get worst

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
I also burn about a quart of oil inbetween oil changes sometimes more but, no blue smoke, no oil on plugs, and no lack of noticeable power. Plus I did a compression test this past summer and my numbers where 155 across all 4 cylinders. You just have to CONSTANTLEY check to make shere your not low and add more when its needed. So far so good for me lol GL.

·
Registered
815 Posts