A Nissan Sentra Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to car audio but I can't seem to find anything on this specific question using the search tool.

I'm planning to buy an amp to power some pioneer speakers i got for my 2000 sentra GXE. From what I've read, I need to wire a blue and white wire from the headunit to the amp in order to have it turn off and on with the car. Before I buy something like this I like to run through the steps, so when taking out my headunit just now, I was confused to see a blue and white wire already connected to the harness. The car is used and the past owner put in a sony cdx-gt575 unit, but there seems to be no sign of him putting in an aftermarket amp along with it. Plus I'd doubt there is an amp since the music gets distorted pretty badly much before max volume.

So my question is... Should this blue and white wire already be there? If so, is it wired to anything important? Can i just cut it short and wire it to the amp? Maybe the past owner wired it himself for some reason unknown to me now.

I have pictures but I can't figure out how to make them smaller on this site. I'll leave them as attachments. They show the wire starting at the black harness, continuing through some white harness, and merging with other wires that lead to who knows where.

Attachments

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's usually the blue wire, with white line. You could always look up the Sony manual and find which is the remote wire.
Thanks for the reply,