A Nissan Sentra Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I've never posted here before nice to meet you all!

I have a 2004 spec v with brembos and spectre cold air, stillen exhaust (dunno what else im not a mechanic) but lately i hear this strange noise when the throttle is floored or almost floored (doesnt make it otherwise and sometimes it doesnt do it all when i do it floor it, weird.) I want to know what it is, I've only heard it in 3rd gear and 4th gear. But I dont feel any or little lack of performance it just sounds like somethings going. It sounds more suspension or something rather then engine but i'm still not sure. Any advice woulkd be great thank you.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Try and describe what the noise actually sounds like or record it. just saying theres a noise is a bit to vague to be able to give an opinion on what it is.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It almost sounds like the sound tires make if you are going through a shallow puddle, like a shshhhhshshshsh. i notice the most in 4th gear and up, if im on the gas ill hear the noise and it stops when i dont give it gas, however i dont feel any performance loss the car still screws lol. Makes me cringe every time i hear it though. also i bought the car with 54k on it and it has 103k and i havent changed the tranny fluid. How bad is that lol (im a delivery driver but i dont beat on the car too much like itll hear "specv" like twice a day.. thats not bad right? and i shift good and grind gears probably like once every 3 months)

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The weird thing is too, sometimes illg o a whole day and it wont even make the noise at all! i dont get it lol what could it be... I was hoping/thinking maybe a driveaxle or inside cv or something.

·
Registered
323 Posts
I would say exhaust leak. If you have a 4-1 header it might be the donut joint, or if you've got a 4-2-1 header I'd say flex pipe.